top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureA K Love

The Dress You Never Wore - A Poem

Updated: Mar 6, 2019



Still in the plastic wrap It hangs there on the door Awaiting that special occasion The dress you never wore


That wedding, christening, evening-do When you said you'd wear it for sure Then changed your mind - "the time's not right" The dress you never wore


The dust swirls all around me And settles on the floor As I gently move it from it's place The dress you never wore


The sense of loss flows through me Sorrow cuts me to the core Tears leave tracks as I don the suit The dress you never wore


The mirror reflects my image Now overlapped with yours Eyes filled with love now as I wear The dress you never wore


In my soul an eternal chasm In my heart a constant tear My promise to you to wear this suit This dress you'll never get to wear.


We all lost someone we loved with all our hearts - don't put off today for tomorrow - live each day like it's your last. Wear that dress xxx

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page